Comparison · Bitly pricing recorded on 12 September 2026
Bitly free: five links, then your card.
That is the limit shown on their pricing page: 5 links a month on the free plan, then $10 a month for the first paid tier. This page says what the free plan really allows, where it stops, and what a tool does when it counts not the clicks but the sales they produced.
Bitly's pricing, tier by tier — recorded 12/09/2026
Free
$0
5 links a month — the limit that decides everything
Core
$10
monthly price on an annual commitment
Growth
$29-35
range shown, depending on commitment
Premium
$199-300
range shown, depending on commitment
Prices in dollars only, recorded on bitly.com/pages/pricing on 12/09/2026. Subtraq Pro is $39, and our free plan holds 10 / 3,000 clicks.
What Bitly does better, and it is not nothing
Seventeen years of links out in the wild
The figures are what they are, and we publish them: Bitly carries 339,458 referring domains and a domain authority of 92, against a brand-new domain and no authority at all on our side (Ubersuggest, recorded 12/09/2026). It ranks for 27,168 keywords in France.
What it does not do, however, it does on no tier: say which link produced which sale, for which client, against which ad spend. Bitly counts clicks. That is its job, and it stops there.
Choose Bitly if…
you want the name everyone recognizes. A bit.ly link is never mistaken for a suspicious one: that is a real advantage when you send it to thousands of strangers. Add its QR codes, its mobile app, and a platform that will not shut down next year.
The two free plans, then the first two paid tiers
Bitly figures recorded on 12 September 2026 on bitly.com/pages/pricing. Subtraq figures read from the code that enforces the limits. Both pricings move: the date matters as much as the number.
| Subtraq — free, then $15 | Bitly — free, then $10 | |
|---|---|---|
| Links created per month, free plan | 10 ✓ | 5 |
| Clicks counted per month, free plan | 3,000 | not stated in the recorded pricing |
| Branded domain on the free plan | 1 | not stated in the recorded pricing |
| First paid tier | $15 — 200 links, 3 domains | $10 on an annual commitment |
| Top of the range | $99 — unlimited workspaces, links and domains | $199-300 ✓ plus enterprise features |
| Sales tracking, in revenue | yes ✓ | absent from the recorded pricing see → |
| Workspace walled off per client | 15 ✓ | absent from the recorded pricing |
| White-label client report | yes ✓ | absent from the recorded pricing |
| Mobile app | no | yes ✓ |
| Authority of the link's brand | none — the product is new | 339,458 referring domains ✓ |
| Billing currency | dollar | dollar only |
| Hosting | European Union ✓ | United States see → |
✓ marks the advantage, and three rows out of twelve go to Bitly — two of which no budget can catch up with: its authority and its app. Where their pricing page states no figure for a row, we write “absent from the recorded pricing” and not “no”: we only speak of what we read.
« Five links a month is enough to try. Not to work. »
That is exactly what a free plan is for — and it is why we compare the tiers next door.
Two tools, two different questions
Stay on Bitly if…
your question is “how many people clicked?”. You publish for yourself, at scale, and the recognition of the bit.ly domain matters more than anything else. Move to the Core tier — the 5 free links will fill up in a week.
Choose Subtraq if…
your question is “how much did it bring in, and for which client?”. One workspace per client, a report under your name they open without an account, ad spend set against revenue. It is an agency tool, not a shortener with statistics.
5
links a month on Bitly's free plan
10
links a month on ours, plus the sales
92
domain authority at Bitly. Ours is nil.
Frequently asked questions
How many links a month on Bitly's free plan?
Five. That is the limit shown on bitly.com/pages/pricing, recorded on 12 September 2026. The first paid tier, Core, is $10 a month on an annual commitment. Our free plan holds ten links a month, 3,000 counted clicks, two client workspaces and one branded domain.
What happens to a Bitly link if I stop paying?
We don't claim to know: the pricing we recorded on 12/09/2026 does not say, and we only speak of what we read. That is the question to put to their support before committing — with them as with us. At Subtraq, redirections on an account dropped back to free keep working; only the counting stops beyond the quota.
Does Bitly track sales?
Sales tracking and revenue attribution are absent from the pricing we recorded. Bitly counts a link's clicks, adds QR codes and a mobile app. Tying a click to a payment, and that payment to an agency's client, is what Subtraq does.
Can I move my Bitly links to Subtraq?
Yes, by CSV import: one column for the destination, one for the short code. Click history, however, does not transfer — no tool can import another's past statistics. Counters start from zero on switching day, and the old bit.ly links keep living with them.
Is Bitly cheaper than Subtraq?
At the entry of the paid range the gap has narrowed: $10 on their side, $15 on ours since the Solo plan. Those $5 buy a workspace and a report per client, sales attribution, and imported ad spend. If all you need is short links, Bitly is still better placed on price — and we say so.
A figure changed on their side? Write to us — we correct it and date it.
Try Subtraq for free
Ten links a month, 3,000 counted clicks, two client workspaces, one branded domain — no credit card. Enough to put links on a real client and see whether the question “how much did it bring in” finally gets an answer.
Open a free workspaceChecked on September 12, 2026 in Bitly help, « Public pricing page » — the original page. Platforms change their rules: if what you see no longer matches, the source wins.
Comparison established on 12/09/2026 from Bitly's public pages and Ubersuggest readings of the same day. We have no relationship with them, and no test of their product is invoked here: only what is written on their pages. Bitly or Rebrandly? if the choice comes down to those two.